多回波测量模式

所有的Cygnus测厚仪均具有将多回波测量技术与单晶探头配合使用的功能。 这提供了准确,经过错误检查的厚度测量,而无需考虑涂层。

 

这个怎么运作

带有探头的测厚仪使用回声穿过材料传播所花费的时间,并将其转换为厚度测量值。 使用了多个声音脉冲,因此被称为“多重回声技术”。

产生短的超声波脉冲并将其从探头耦合到材料中。 然后,仪器监听后壁回波以返回到现在处于接收模式的探头。 当量规检测到三个等间隔的连续回波信号时,它将继续测量这些回波之间的时间并计算材料厚度。 由于使用了三个连续的回波,任何涂层都会被自动忽略。 同样,因为三个连续回波之间的间隔必须相等,这意味着对测量进行检查,并且比超声测厚的单回波或回波模式更加可靠。

显示的测量值是准确的厚度测量值。 如果时间不匹配,则不会显示任何测量值。

图中描绘了“多次回波”光束传播,并随时间扩展,以说明计时方法。 实际上,光路是笔直的,与表面成90°,并且超声波能量在金属内上下回荡。 每次回声被反射回去时,一小部分能量就会通过涂层上升,撞击到现在充当接收器的探头上。

探头表面回波之间的延迟完全等于两次穿过材料(不包括涂层)所花费的时间,因此可以忽略诸如油漆之类的涂层,显示的测量值仅针对金属厚度。

 

多重回声的优势

最明显的优点是不必去除涂层和油漆,也不会包含在显示的测量中。 借助多重回声,天鹅座的量规可以读取厚度约6毫米(0.24英寸)的涂层。 借助深涂层功能,可以将涂层增加到20mm(¾“)。 具有直的声束的单晶探头可用于在弯曲表面上进行测量。 更改探头的方向不会影响测量。 由于第二回波和第三回波之间的时序必须匹配,因此可以确保进行准确,验证的测量。 船级检验通常按照船级标准规定,要求使用“多重回波/穿透涂层”模式。

Multiple Echo Measuring Mode

All Cygnus Thickness Gauges have the facility to use the Multiple Echo Measuring Technique with a single crystal probe. This provides, accurate, error-checked thickness measurements, ignoring coatings.

How it works:

A Thickness Gauge with a probe uses the time taken for echoes of sound to travel through a material and converts this into a thickness measurement. Multiple sound pulses are used hence the name “Multiple Echo Technique”.

A short pulse of ultrasound is generated and coupled into the material from the probe. The instrument then listens for back-wall echoes to return to the probe which is now in receiving mode. When the gauge detects three consecutive echo signals of equal spacing it proceeds to measure the time between these echoes and calculates the material thickness. As three consecutive echoes are used any coating will be automatically ignored. Also because the spacing between the three consecutive echoes must be equal means measurements are checked and far more reliable than single-echo or echo-echo modes of ultrasonic thickness measurement.

The measurement displayed is an accurate thickness measurement. If the timings do not match, no measurement is displayed.

The ‘multiple echo’ beam travel is depicted in the diagram, spread out for time, to illustrate the timing method. The beam path is in fact straight, at 90° to the surface, and the ultrasonic energy reverberates up and down within the metal. Each time the echo is reflected back down, a small portion of the energy comes up through the coating, striking the probe which now acts as a receiver.

The delay between echoes at the probe face is exactly equal to the time taken to pass through the material (excluding the coating) twice, therefore coatings such as paint are ignored and the measurement displayed is of the metal thickness only.

Advantages of Multiple Echo:

The most obvious advantage is that coating and paint do not have to be removed and will not be included in the measurement displayed. Using Multiple Echo, Cygnus gauges can read through coatings up to approximately 6mm (0.24”) thick. With the deep coat function this can be increased to 20mm (¾”) of coating. A single crystal probe having a straight sound beam can be used to measure on curved surfaces. Changing the orientation of the probe doesn’t affect the measurement. As the timings between the second and third echoes have to match this ensures accurate, verified measurements. Ships surveys to classification standards usually specify Multiple Echo/Through Coating mode is required.